Order:   AMAZON | BARNES & NOBLE | INDIEBOUND | KOBO | iBOOKS

Signed copies from EAGLE HARBOR BOOK CO.

 

If you’re still crying in a corner because you miss Seabiscuit (raises hand), this book is for you.
— Popsugar, "21 Fiction Reads to Add to Your Fall Reading List"

LEARNING TO FALL

Debuted August 2016

read the first chapter!

 

Brynn honors her passion for horses by studying at the toughest veterinary program in the country. Months from graduating, tragedy strikes—tragedy for which she can’t help but feel responsible. Brynn feels suffocated by the weight of her father’s legacy and his dusty hopes for horse show jumping success. When Brynn’s frenetic efforts to dig the family business out of debt fail, she’s down to one desperate hope.

Enter Jason Lander, who understands what it’s like to walk away from the ring. The onetime champion agrees to train Brynn, and her horse Jett, for an all-or-nothing run at the prestigious Million Dollar Gold Cup. But going all the way means doing it his way, which has Brynn questioning her decisions, her loyalties, and her growing feelings for Jason—complicating her relationship with her lover.

Set in Northern California against a stunning backdrop of coastal hills and valleys, LEARNING TO FALL is about discovering how to let go—and how to hang on with your heart.

Fans of Seabiscuit and The Horse Whisperer will love this beautifully written debut; one they’re bound to add to their shelf of favorites.

Early Praise

In this, her debut novel, Anne Clermont takes us behind the high-stakes world of Grand Prix show jumping—with spectacular results. Not just the horses, which she paints with a beauty and a tenderness all their own, but the riders and trainers and owners, the haves and the wannabees all come to vivid life. This is a sport in which the jumps get higher and higher with every round, and Anne Clermont takes every one of them with flamboyant and heart-rending ease. A terrific showing.
— Robert Goolrick, #1 New York Times Bestselling Author of A Reliable Wife, Heading Out To Wonderful and The Fall of Princes
In her debut novel, Learning to Fall, Anne Clermont tells a compelling, page-turning story about one young woman’s search for success and love in the world of horse show jumping. Clermont writes with great compassion and insight. I thoroughly enjoyed this novel.
— Ellen Sussman, New York Times bestselling author of French Lessons and A Wedding in Provence
Full of heart, Learning to Fall tells the well-paced story of a tenacious young woman’s quest to overcome tragedy and reawaken her dreams. Clermont shows us that mastering life’s challenging courses requires a leap of faith – sometimes one taken on the back of a beloved horse.
— Sonja Yoerg, author of Middle of Somewhere and House Broken
The spoiled princesses. The egotistical males. The backstabbing barn buddies and those that serve them. If you’ve been on the show-jumping circuit, you know these types well from some barns. Anne Clermont knows them better than most, and in LEARNING TO FALL she pits them all against a young woman who may be short on privilege but is long on luck and perseverance. As a rider I wanted to cheer Brynn Seymour through her struggle with the turn of each page of this emotional high leap of a debut novel.
— Hope Glynn, rider, trainer and owner of Sonoma Valley Stables, Equus Hall of Fame inductee
Whether or not you grew up reading Black Beauty or The Black Stallion, this insider’s view of the competitive world of show jumping captivates, wearing its tender heart on its sleeve. Brynn Seymour will have you cheering for her from the start, as she questions what many of us do: is the path we’re following the one we choose? Or the one someone else chooses for us?
— Tracy Guzeman, author of The Gravity of Birds
Clermont’s passionate storytelling captures the essence of life as an equestrian. An excellent portrayal of dedication, hard work, and ups and downs that is relatable to all walks of life. Be it equestrian or pedestrian.
— John Pearce, Canadian Show Jumping Team Olympian
Behind the beauty and elaborate pageantry of show jumping, there is a lot of grinding machinery. Anne Clermont’s LEARNING TO FALL offers an all-access pass to the hard work and financial realities that fuel it. I found myself nodding at the character types I recognized as I turned pages. I couldn’t put this one down.
— Chris Pratt, Canadian Equestrian Team member, two time Del Mar Grand Prix winner and HITS Thermal Finale Grand Prix winner
 


order LEARNING TO FALL!